Chelsea vs Crystal Palace FA Cup semifinal: Preview, team news, kick-off time, how to watch

Chelsea vs Crystal Palace FA Cup semifinal: Preview, team news, kick-off time, how to watch

Chelsea have a chance to play a fourth (!) final this year after the Super Cup, the Club World Cup, and the League Cup finals, but in order to do so (and take on Liverpool again), we have to get past Crystal Palace, who may be the underdogs but that just means they have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Anything can happen in a single-elimination match.

Last time it took us 89 minutes to break the deadlock and score the winner against them, and that was without having to digest the emotional and physical toll of an ultimately most disappointing Champions League elimination.

We’ve made four of the last five FA Cup finals (though have won just one, shockingly). Also on the line is Thomas Tuchel’s perfect record in semifinals: 9 for 9. Eventually he will lose one, probably, let that not be this one.

Date / Time: Sunday, April 17, 2022, 16.30 BST; 11:30am EDT; 9pm IST
Venue: Wembley Stadium, London, England
Referee: Anthony Taylor (on pitch); John Brooks (VAR)
Forecast: Sunny, warm, bit breezy

On TV: ITV 1 (UK); none (USA); Sony TEN 2 (India); SuperSport MaXimo 1 (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: ITV Hub (UK); ESPN+ (USA); Sony LIV (India); DStv Now (NGA); elsewhere

Chelsea team news: Romelu Lukaku and Ross Barkley have returned to training after missing a few days with injury and illness, respectively. Lukaku has not seen much action in the Premier League or the Champions League, but he’s been a steady presence in the team and on the scoresheet, too, in cup games. Similarly, Kepa Arrizabalaga might get the call in goal having not played since his failed, for once, turn as a super-sub against Liverpool in the League Cup final shootout.

kick-off time

Promote Your Song